*** Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version) ***

A. Submission of the thesis

A1. What are the formalities to be fulfilled with my thesis once the defense is completed?
After the defence, new PhDs must submit to the Division of Scientific Information (DIS) in electronic form (deposit in the UNIGE Open Archive) the thesis, the imprimatur, the diffusion contract completed and signed by the author and, for the Faculty of Sciences, the "Mode of publication". Two printed copies of their thesis must be sent by post to the DIS.
 
A2. Where should I send the two printed copies?
To the following address:
University of Geneva
DIS - Scientific Information Division
Submission of theses
28 bd du Pont-d'Arve
1205 Geneva
 
A3. How many printed copies of my thesis should I send to BID and for what purpose?
Two printed copies must be deposited at the BID, which forwards them to the Bibliothèque de Genève (BGE) as legal deposit (Law instituting legal deposit (LIDL) of 19 May 1967). If you consider that the two paper copies are not available for consultation at the BGE, the request should be made by yourself at the BGE-legal deposit.
Faculties are free to request additional copies.
 
A4. Why am I obliged to deposit my thesis in the UNIGE Open Archive?
The deposit of an electronic version of doctoral theses has been a compulsory formality since 1 June 2009 with the entry into force of the Institutional Directive which lays down the general policy and functioning of the UNIGE Open Archive. The Degrees Office cannot issue a title until the new doctor has deposited it in the Archive.
 
A5. I am no longer registered at the University and my account has been deactivated, how can I proceed to deposit my electronic thesis?
In case of exmatriculation, the easiest way is to send us your thesis by email to archive-ouverte-theses@unige.ch, or to send it to us via a file sharing system (e.g. SwissTransfer) In addition to the thesis itself, please also send us a short abstract of 150 words, the diffusion contract filled and signed by you, the imprimatur and, if you wish, keywords of your choice.

B. Diffusion of the thesis

B1. I do not want my thesis to be available for consultation in the UNIGE Open Archive, can I forbid it ?
Only the deposit in the Archive is obligatory. The mode of dissemination remains the choice of the author, possibly in agreement with his or her thesis director. For each new deposit, we sign a distribution contract with the doctor who stipulates the mode of distribution of the electronic version.
 
B2. Why should I disseminate my thesis? Anyone could easily copy my text and plagiarize it.
This is true. Nevertheless, one must also see the advantages of a wide diffusion. On the one hand the majority of researchers are honest and will quote you if they use your thesis in their work. On the other hand, when a document is available on the Internet, it is easy to detect plagiarized copies thanks to specialized search engines. Thus, the more widely a text is available on the Internet, the more risky it is for an indelicate researcher to copy it. Finally, from a general point of view, it is important to communicate the results of your research, as they will allow other scientists to go further and advance knowledge.
 
B3. What are the different modes of dissemination in the UNIGE Open Archive?
There are three modes of dissemination as well as the possibility to set an embargo period. When making a deposit, the author must therefore choose for each file between diffusion on the Internet (free access), on the Intranet (restricted access to the UNIGE campus), or non-distribution (prohibited access). It is possible to temporarily restrict the diffusion of a document by setting an embargo period and by specifying the modes of diffusion during and after the embargo.
 
B4. I have signed the contract for the electronic dissemination of my thesis and set a dissemination mode. Can I modify it later?
Yes, according to article 8 of the said contract, the author can at any time modify the level of diffusion of his thesis in the Archive. The request must be addressed to the Scientific Information Directorate (DIS) by e-mail archive-ouverte-theses@unige.ch or by ordinary registered mail.

C. Preparation of the files

C1. Do I have to protect the pdf file of my thesis with a password?
No. We think that trying to prevent copying or printing a pdf document by adding a password is a bad idea. It does not prevent plagiarism, which should be dealt with in another way. On the other hand, it poses a problem for well-meaning people who want to use your research and quote you, but also for the long-term preservation of your document, as we may not be able to migrate it for viewing with tomorrow's software.
 
C2. What is the recommended format for my electronic thesis?
The PDF/A format is highly recommended since it is designed to ensure maximum durability. Other PDF versions are also accepted. It is preferable to avoid proprietary formats such as MSWord, as their long-term accessibility cannot be guaranteed.
 
C3. How do I generate a PDF file from my word processor?
Most current word processors offer the possibility of saving documents in various formats, including PDF/A. In addition, there are file converters available, either online or to be installed on your computer, free of charge or for a fee. We do not make a list of such software, as it should be updated too often.
 
C4. My PDF file is huge. How can I reduce it?
A PDF document can be large for several reasons. It may be normal if the text is long and contains particularly many images. However, it is often possible to reduce the size of a PDF file by optimizing it with the help of suitable software, for example Adobe Acrobat Pro.
 
C5. My thesis file is too large to be submitted via the online form, what should I do?
Files up to 40 MB are usually not a problem, although it may take some patience to wait for the upload to finish properly. If your thesis is very large, a good practice is to "split" it into several files, for example by separating the annexes from the main body. When you then drop these files in the Archive, make sure to respect their logical sequence, which will allow your future readers to find their way around.
 
C6. Is there a maximum number of files that can be added during a drop?
No, we have not set a limit, as it is rare to have more than 4 files for a publication anyway.

D. Miscellaneous

 
D1. Does the distribution mode of the electronic version automatically apply to the printed versions as well?
No. The contract of diffusion of the electronic thesis does not apply to the printed copies that are sent to the Bibliothèque de Genève (BGE). If you wish to settle this issue, please contact the person in charge of legal deposit at the BGE.
 
D2. Is a precise model of cover page required for the deposit of theses in the UNIGE Open Archive? Are there any formatting or formatting requirements?
No. There are no requirements for either the electronic or printed versions. However, please note that each faculty is free to impose rules on its doctoral students. Ask your secretariat (doctoral students or students) or your study advisors for information.
 
D3. Can I apply for financial support from BID for the printing of my thesis?
Unfortunately not. We have no funds to help doctors cover printing costs.
 
D4. My abstract is much longer than 150 words. Can I use it instead of the short abstract?
For the sake of clarity, consistency and layout, we really encourage you to respect the 150-word limit. A good abstract should communicate to the reader all the important aspects covered by the author, while eliminating secondary details.
 
D5. My name/first name is different in the submission form than the one I use for my publications. How do I change it?
The Open Archive uses surnames and first names extracted from Human Resources databases. If there are differences, you can request a correction of your username from your contact manager at the Human Resources Division. Please inform us so that we can reflect the changes in the existing records.
 
D6. My thesis was written in co-supervision with another university, in Switzerland or abroad. Can I require a degree from the University of Geneva and do I have to deposit an electronic version in the UNIGE Open Archive?
Yes, the co-supervision of a thesis (or double doctorate) allows a doctoral student to obtain a diploma from each of the two institutions involved on the basis of a single defence. For the Open Archive it makes no difference.
 
D7. The imprimatur, what is it?
It is a document granted by the Dean's Office of your faculty after receiving the thesis report written by the jury and which authorizes the printing of the thesis. Generally, it mentions the date of the defense as well as the thesis number.
 
D8. The mode of publication, what is it?
It is a document specific to the Faculty of Sciences and established by the thesis director that specifies the level of diffusion and the possible embargo that the doctor will have to indicate when submitting his electronic thesis.

Thèses - FAQ

A. Dépôt de la thèse

A1. Quelles sont les formalités à remplir avec ma thèse une fois la soutenance accomplie ?
Après la soutenance, les nouveaux docteurs doivent remettre à la Division de l'information scientifique (DIS), à Uni Dufour, deux exemplaires imprimés de leur thèse, l'imprimatur émis par la faculté et, le cas échéant, une copie du procès-verbal de soutenance (spécialement si ce dernier contient une mention) ainsi que le "Mode de publication". D'autre part, ils/elles doivent déposer une version électronique de leur thèse directement dans l'Archive).
Une brochure d'explication est à disposition dans les secrétariats des facultés.
 
A2. Où dois-je déposer les exemplaires imprimés et signer les contrats ?
A Uni Dufour, auprès de la Division de l'information scientifique (DIS), au troisième étage, bureau 310. Les horaires d'ouverture sont : 9h - 11h30 et 14h30 - 16h30.
 
A3. Combien d’exemplaires imprimés de ma thèse dois-je déposer à la DIS et dans quel but ?
Deux exemplaires imprimés doivent être déposés à la DIS qui les transmets à la Bibliothèque de Genève (BGE) au titre du dépôt légal (Loi instituant le dépôt légal (LIDL) du 19 mai 1967). Si vous envisagez que les deux exemplaires papier ne soient pas consultables à la BGE, la demande est à faire par vous-même au BGE-dépôt légal.
Les facultés sont libres de demander des exemplaires supplémentaires.
 
A4. Pourquoi suis-je dans l’obligation de déposer ma thèse dans l’Archive ouverte UNIGE ?
Le dépôt d’une version électronique des thèses de doctorat est une formalité obligatoire depuis le 1er juin 2009 avec l’entrée en vigueur de la Directive institutionnelle qui fixe la politique générale et le fonctionnement de l’Archive ouverte UNIGE. Le bureau des diplômes ne peut pas émettre un titre avant que ce dépôt dans l’Archive ne soit effectué par le nouveau docteur.
 
A5. Je ne suis plus immatriculé à l’Université et mon compte a été désactivé, comment puis-je procéder pour déposer ma thèse électronique ?
En cas d’exmatriculation, le plus simple est de nous faire parvenir votre thèse par email à archive-ouverte-theses@unige.ch, ou alors de venir déposer une copie sur un support (par ex. CD) au bureau 310 à Uni Dufour, afin que nous fassions le dépôt à votre place. En plus de la thèse elle-même, transmettez-nous également un résumé court (abstract) de 150 mots et, si vous le souhaitez, des mots-clés de votre choix.

B. Diffusion de la thèse

B1. Je ne souhaite pas que ma thèse soit consultable dans l’Archive ouverte UNIGE, puis-je l’interdire ?
Seul le dépôt dans l’Archive est obligatoire. Le mode de diffusion reste un choix de l’auteur-e, éventuellement en accord avec son directeur ou directrice de thèse. Pour chaque nouveau dépôt, nous signons avec le/la docteur-e un contrat de diffusion qui stipule le mode de diffusion de la version électronique.
 
B2. Pourquoi devrais-je diffuser ma thèse ? N’importe qui pourrait facilement copier mon texte et me plagier.
C’est vrai. Néanmoins il faut aussi voir les avantages d’une diffusion à large échelle. D’une part la majorité des chercheurs sont honnêtes et vont vous citer s’ils utilisent votre thèse dans leurs travaux. D’autre part, lorsqu’un document est disponible sur Internet, il est facile d’en détecter les copies plagiées grâce à des moteurs de recherche spécialisés. Ainsi, plus un texte est largement disponible sur Internet, plus il est risqué pour un chercheur indélicat de le copier. Finalement, d’un point de vue général, il est important de communiquer les résultats de votre recherche, car ils vont permettre à d’autres scientifiques d’aller plus loin et de faire avancer la connaissance.
 
B3. Quels sont les différents modes de diffusion dans l’Archive ouverte UNIGE ?
Il existe trois modes de diffusion ainsi que la possibilité de fixer une période d’embargo. Lors d’un dépôt, l’auteur-e doit donc choisir pour chaque fichier entre la diffusion sur Internet (accès libre), sur Intranet (accès restreint au campus UNIGE), ou une non-diffusion (accès interdit). Il est possible de restreindre temporairement la diffusion d’un document en fixant une période d’embargo et en spécifiant les modes de diffusion durant et après l’embargo.
 
B4. J'ai signé le contrat de diffusion électronique de ma thèse et fixé un mode de diffusion. Puis-je le modifier ultérieurement ?
Oui. En vertu de l'article 8 dudit contrat l’auteur-e peut à tout moment modifier le niveau de diffusion de sa thèse dans l’Archive. La demande doit être adressée à la Direction de l'information scientifique (DIS) par courrier électronique archive-ouverte-theses@unige.ch ou par courrier ordinaire recommandé.

C. Préparation des fichiers

C1. Faut-il protéger le fichier pdf de ma thèse à l’aide d’un mot de passe ?
Non. Nous pensons que vouloir empêcher la copie ou l’impression d’un document pdf en ajoutant un mot de passe est une mauvaise idée. Cela ne prévient pas le plagiat, qui doit être traité d’une autre manière. D’autre part, cela pose problème aux personnes bien intentionnées qui veulent utiliser vos recherches et vous citer, mais aussi pour la préservation à long terme de votre document, car nous n’aurons peut-être pas la possibilité de le migrer pour le consulter avec les logiciels de demain.
 
C2. Quel est le format recommandé pour ma thèse électronique ?
Le format PDF/A est vivement recommandé puisque il est conçu pour garantir une pérennité maximales. Les autres versions PDF sont aussi acceptées. Il est préférable d’éviter des formats propriétaires comme MSWord, car leur accessibilité à long terme ne peut pas être garantie.
 
C3. Comment générer un fichier PDF à partir de mon traitement de texte ?
La plupart des traitements de texte actuels offrent la possibilité d’enregistrer les documents sous divers formats, dont le PDF/A. Il existe par ailleurs des convertisseurs de fichiers, en ligne ou à installer sur son ordinateur, gratuits ou payants. Nous ne faisons pas une liste de tels logiciels, car elle devrait être mise à jour trop souvent.
 
C4. Mon fichier PDF est énorme. Comment puis-je le réduire ?
Un document PDF peut être volumineux pour plusieurs raisons. Il se peut que ça soit normal si le texte est long et contient particulièrement beaucoup d’images. Il est cependant souvent possible de diminuer la taille d’un fichier PDF en l’optimisant à l’aide d’un logiciel adéquat, par exemple Adobe Acrobat Pro.
 
C5. Le fichier de ma thèse est trop volumineux pour être déposé par le biais du formulaire en ligne, que dois-je faire ?
Les fichiers jusqu’à 50 Mo ne posent en général pas de problèmes, même s’il faut parfois un peu de patience pour attendre que le chargement se termine correctement. Si votre thèse est très volumineuse, une bonne pratique est de la « découper » en plusieurs fichiers, par exemple en séparant les annexes du corps principal. Lorsque vous déposez ensuite ces fichiers dans l’Archive, veillez à respecter leur séquence logique, ce qui permettra à vos futurs lecteurs de s’y retrouver.
 
C6. Y a-t-il un nombre maximal de fichiers qui peuvent être ajoutés lors d’un dépôt ?
Non, nous n’avons pas fixé de limite, car il est de toute façon rare d’avoir plus de 4 fichiers pour une publication.

D. Divers

D1. Est-ce que le mode de diffusion de la version électronique s’applique automatiquement aussi aux versions imprimées ?
Non. Le contrat de diffusion de la thèse électronique ne s’applique pas aux exemplaires imprimés qui sont envoyés à la Bibliothèque de Genève (BGE). Si vous voulez régler cette question, veuillez vous adresser au responsable du dépôt légal à la BGE.
 
D2. Est-ce qu’un modèle précis de page de couverture est exigé pour le dépôt des thèses dans l’Archive ouverte UNIGE ? Y a-t-il des exigences de mise en forme ou de format ?
Non. Il n’y a aucune exigence, ni pour la version électronique, ni pour les versions imprimées. Attention toutefois, chaque faculté est libre d’imposer des règles à ses doctorants. Renseignez-vous auprès de votre secrétariat (des doctorants ou des étudiants) ou de vos conseillers aux études.
 
D3. Puis-je demander une aide financière à la DIS pour l’impression de ma thèse ?
Malheureusement non. Nous ne disposons d’aucun fonds pour aider les docteurs à couvrir les frais d’impression.
 
D4. Mon résumé est beaucoup plus long que 150 mots. Puis-je l’utiliser à la place du résumé court ?
Par soucis de clarté, de cohérence et de mise en page, nous vous invitons vraiment à respecter cette limite de 150 mots. Un bon résumé doit communiquer au lecteur tous les aspects importants couverts par l’auteur, tout en éliminant les détails secondaires.
 
D5. Mon nom/prénom est différent dans le formulaire de dépôt que celui que j’utilise pour mes publications. Comment le faire changer ?
L’Archive ouverte utilise les noms et prénoms extraits des bases de données des Ressources Humaines. S'il y a des différences, vous pouvez demander une correction de votre nom d’usage auprès de votre gestionnaire de contact à la Division des ressources humaines. Veuillez ensuite nous en informer pour que nous répercutions les changements dans les notices déjà existantes.
 
D6. Ma thèse a été écrite en cotutelle avec une autre université, en Suisse ou à l’étranger. Puis-je exiger un diplôme de l’Université de Genève et dois-je déposer une version électronique dans l’Archive ouverte UNIGE ?
Oui. La cotutelle de thèse (ou double doctorat) permet à un doctorant d’obtenir un diplôme de chacun des deux établissements impliqués sur la base d’une seule soutenance. Pour l’Archive ouverte ça ne change rien.
 
D7. L’imprimatur, qu’est-ce que c’est ?
Il s’agit d’un document accordé par le Décanat de votre faculté après réception du rapport de thèse rédigé par le jury et qui autorise l’impression de la thèse. En général, il mentionne la date de soutenance ainsi que le numéro de thèse.
 
D8. Le mode de publication, qu’est-ce que c’est ?
Il s’agit d’un document propre à la Faculté des Sciences et établi par le directeur de thèse qui précise le niveau de diffusion et l’éventuel embargo que devra indiquer le docteur lors du dépôt de sa thèse électronique.